Democratic Women of Erie County

Democratic Women of Erie County
P.O. Box 1044
Sandusky, OH 44871-1044


Officers, Committees & Committee Chairs

*President (2018-2019) - Margaret M. Murray
*Vice-President (2018-2019) - Debra L. Nickoloff
*Secretary (2019-2020) - Lisa R. DeVerna
*Treasurer (2019-2020) - Diane L. Schaefer
*Membership Secretary (2018-2019) - Connie J. Porter

Constitution & Bylaws - Sandra Brown
Chaplain - Patricia Baum
Historian - Mary Norris 
*Parliamentarian - Diane Hahler-Johnson
*Political Action Chair - Darlene Walk
*Publicity - Amanda Fackler
Scholarship Chair - Charlene Adams
*Social Chair - Mary Lou Napka
Voter Registration and Membership Drive - Debbie Nickoloff
*Ways & Means Chair - Traci Francis, Julie Farrar
* = Member of the Executive Committee

Auditing Committee - Nettie Cox, Barbara Kresser, Norma Scally
Christmas Dinner Committee - Diane Hahler-Johnson, Mary Lou Napka, Connie Porter
Dinner/Meeting E-mails - Diane Schaefer
Dinner/Meeting Telephone - Connie Porter
Nominating Committee - Barb Kessler, Peggy Murray, Norma Scally
Parliamentarian & Bylaws - Diane Hahler-Johnson, Sandra Brown, Connie Porter,
Karen Walderzak, Darlene Walk
Picnic Committee - Lisa DeVerna, TBA
Political Action Committee - Darlene Walk, Beverly Newell Hancock, Marlisa Young
Scholarship Committee - Charlene Adams, Traci Francis, Debbie Nickoloff, Yvette Rankins
Ways & Means Committee - Traci Francis, Julie Farrar, Diane Hahler-Johnson, MaryLou Napka

The Constitution and Bylaws of the Democratic Women of Erie County:
Visit here.

The purpose of our organization:

  1. To perpetuate the principles of American democracy;
  2. To promote citizen interest in governmental activities in order to influence the course of government - on the local, state, and federal levels;
  3. To advocate the ideals of the Democratic Party;
  4. To encourage the interest of women in governmental activities.




Our meetings are the third Monday of the month at The Lunch Box, 154 Columbus Avenue, Sandusky 44870.  Doors open at 5:00pm.  Dinner is served at 5:30 p.m., followed by our program (when scheduled) at 6:15 p.m. and the business meeting at 6:45 p.m.  Guest Speakers are scheduled for program meetings.  If no program is scheduled, the business meeting will begin at approximately 6:15 p.m.

We have special events throughout the year, also held on the third Monday at various locations.  Prior notification is provided via e-mail and/or U.S. Postal Service.

Please visit EVENTS - Democratic Women of Erie County for meetings and special events information.

Men are welcome as Associate Members.


Click here for Membership Form - 2019

2018 Memberships:
Regular - $15.00/year
Senior - $10.00/year - 62 years and older
Associate - $15.00/year 

If you have any questions, would like to join or have updates to your membership,
please contact:   
Connie Porter, Membership Secretary


Democratic Women of Erie County 2018 Scholarship

The Democratic Women of Erie County will be awarding at least one (1) $500.00 scholarship to a local female resident who demonstrates the principles of the Democratic Party.  The purpose of the scholarship is to stimulate interest in and to create involvement in local, state and national government.



  • Erie County female resident
  • GPA minimum of 3.0
  • Scholarship is restricted to an accredited institution of higher learning
  • 250-500 word essay is required
  • Registered to Vote if Age Permits
    • Registered at 17 years old, if applicant will be 18 years old on the day of the November 5, 2019 Election
  • Available to attend the Democratic Women of Erie County Meeting
    • June 17, 2019: Introduction of the scholarship recipient and reading of the essay


  • Who do you believe would make great President and Vice President Candidates for the 2020 election?  Why? 

  • Please be specific in your reasons for both individuals, including information such as campaign finance funds, voting record, political office history, and any other remarkable information.

  • Please Note the Following: 

    1) The essay must be typed on white paper and double spaced. 

    2) The applicant’s first name should appear at the top right corner of each page.  

    3) Entries will be evaluated on the basis of clarity, organization, grammar and presentation.  

Please complete the cover page, and submit it with your essay and a school transcript to:       

  • Charlene Adams at 1518 Pearl Street, Sandusky, OH  44870.                                                          

The essay must be postmarked no later than Friday, March 8, 2019.  We allow 10 days for delivery.

Any questions, please contact:

To print out cover page, requirements, essay topic and contact information, please click on links below:


2019 Scholarship Recipients

Andra Grant - Cleveland State University

Andra Grant, a 2018 Sandusky High School graduate,Andra Grant - Photois attending Cleveland State University
and  majoring in Health Science
with a track in the Pre-Physician Assistant Program. 

Rikki Garand - The Ohio State University   

Rikki Garand, a St. Mary Central Catholic High School Senior, Rikki Garand - Photo

is planning to attend The Ohio State University
and majoring in Political Science
with a focus in Public Affairs/Government. 


Bakeless Bake Sale

Bake sales are being held every day,
But we’re going to do it a different way.
No raiding the cookbook for something to bake,
No creampuffs, brownies, cookies or cake.

No trip to the store to buy what you need,
No blending, no stirring, no oven heat.
No toppings, no icings...Just get off your feet!
Your nerves stay unruffled; your kitchen stays neat.

We hope you think our plan is grand
And feel quite sure you will understand.
In your envelope, please put the price
Of a pie, cake or something nice.

Without fuss or bother, you have done your part.
We are sure you will give with a willing heart.
This is the end of our little tale
Wishing success for our bakeless bake sale.
Democratic Women of Erie County - Bakeless Bake Sale - FLYER 2019
If you would like to donate, please mail a check payable to:
Democratic Women of Erie County, ATTN:  Treasurer
P.O. Box 1044, Sandusky 44871-1044
bring your contribution to a monthly meeting
and give to Diane Schaefer, Treasurer
Proceeds go to our Dorothy Deering Scholarship Fund.
Thank You for your support!

Julie Farrar and Traci Francis, Co-Chairs
Diane Hahler-Johnson
Mary Lou Napka


Paid for and authorized by the Democratic Women of Erie County
Diane L. Schaefer, Treasurer, P.O. Box 1044, Sandusky 44871-1044