## Erie County Democratic Party Resolution 2024-02

WHEREAS, Raise the Wage Ohio, led by One Fair Wage, SEIU District 1199, Ohio Organizing Collaborative, the Ohio Education Association, and other groups is currently collecting signatures to place a constitutional amendment on the statewide ballot for November of 2024 that would raise Ohio's minimum wage to \$15/hour by 2025 and end the subminimum wage for tipped workers, workers with disabilities, and youth; and,

WHEREAS, everyone who works for a living deserves to be paid a wage that recognizes the value of their work and meets the cost of living; and,

WHEREAS, it is estimated that a \$15/hour minimum wage would benefit more than 1.5 million Ohioans, including 406,000 that area parents with children under age 18. Six in ten of the affected workers are women. Black workers are nearly twice as likely as white counterparts to be paid wages so low the amendment would raise their pay; and,

WHEREAS, ending the subminimum wage for tipped workers would lead to a better life, wages, and promote justice for women and people of color most impacted in these professions. Raising the tipped minimum wage to the higher full minimum wage has reduced poverty rates, increased sales for restaurants, and decreased employee turnover; and,

WHEREAS, polling shows 60% of Ohioans would support a constitutional amendment that would raise the minimum wage to \$15/hour by 2025 and end the subminimum wage for tipped workers, workers with disabilities, and youth; and,

WHEREAS, building a stronger and fairer economy for working people and raising wages aligns with the platform of the Democratic Party.

**NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED:** The Erie County Democratic Party Executive Committee fully endorses the Raise the Wage Ohio Constitutional Amendment and will assist with the passage of the amendment for the November 2024 ballot.

| Approved on          |                               |
|----------------------|-------------------------------|
|                      |                               |
| Amy F. Grubbe, Chair | Linda Miller-Moore, Secretary |