Events > ODP State Convention – Saturday, 8.01.2020

ODP State Convention - Saturday, 8.01.2020

Ohio Democratic Party
2020 State Convention

View the 2020 State Convention here.

The Ohio Democratic Party Convention will be held virtually on Saturday, August 1, 2020, at 10:30am. Below under Important Information is the official Call to the 2020 ODP State Convention and who is eligible as automatic delegates to the 2020 ODP State Convention. 

By Ohio Democratic Party Rules, only delegates to the State Party Convention may nominate and elect individual(s) as Presidential Electors at the State Convention. At-large delegates are apportioned to each county based on results of the 2018 Gubernatorial Election - see attached delegate distribution under Important Information. Presidential Electors cast the actual ballot for the winning party candidate for President and Vice President of the United States after the General Election scheduled to be held on Tuesday, November 3, 2020. The meeting of Presidential Electors usually takes place in December. If you are elected as a Presidential Elector, you are expected/required to attend the meeting in December to fulfill your duties as a Presidential Elector.

Ohio has 18 Presidential Electors: One Elector will be chosen by delegates from each of Ohio’s 16 Congressional Districts. The other two Electors are statewide at-large and will be chosen by all delegates.

Once Erie County’s at-large delegates for the State Convention are elected, they will have the opportunity to nominate an individual or individuals to run for Presidential Elector. Forms will be provided for the nomination(s).
If any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me:
  • Erie County Democratic Party voicemail: 419.433.3917 Option 3
  • Amy Grubbe email:

Erie County has been assigned
two (2) men and two (2) women at-large delegates.

The election for determining
Erie County’s at-large delegates
was held on Thursday, June 25, 2020, at 6:30pm
during the Regular ECDP Executive Committee Meeting.

 At-Large Delegates elected to represent Erie County:
Susan M. Brouse - Congressional District 4
Diane L. Schaefer - Congressional District 9
Talon R. Flohr - Congressional District 9
Roger Skelley-Watts - Congressional District 9

Additional Erie County Delegates:
Amy F. Grubbe, Chair/ECDP
Margaret M. Murray, ODP State Committee Woman
Alexis Miller, Candidate/House District 89

Delegates from Congressional District 9
representing Cuyahoga, Erie, Lucas and Ottawa Counties
voted on who would represent CD9 as 
Presidential Elector.
Amy F. Grubbe, Erie County
was elected as Presidential Elector to represent Congressional District 9.
Thank You to all who voted!


ODP 2020 State Convention

ECDP - ODP State Convention - Cover Letter - 6.05.2020

Call to ODP 2020 State Convention - 8.01.2020

Delegate Distribution - By County - 8.01.2020

ECDP - ODP State Convention - Candidate for Delegate Form - 6.05.2020