Events > Democratic Women of Erie County

Democratic Women of Erie County

Your Invited - card-blue ribbon - clipart


Monthly Membership Meeting:
Monday, July 20, 2020 | 7:00pm


It will be a Zoom Teleconference Meeting!


Regular Agenda


Dorothy Deering Memorial
2020 Scholarship Award Winners:

Micaela Coon - Edison High School
Will be attending Ashland University

Kaylee Ries - Edison High School
Will be attending BGSU - Main Campus

Please note the importance us - local fun


Members: Please pay your 2020 dues if you have not yet done so.

Would you like to join us? Visit here for an application form.

 An increase in monthly meeting dinners was voted on at November 2017 meeting:
Entree - up to $13.00 per person including tax and service gratuity
Entree with Dessert - up to $15.00 per person including tax and service gratuity


Proceeds from the 50/50 held during dinner meeting
will go to the scholarship fund. 


Dorothy Deering Memorial Scholarship
presented by the
Democratic Women of Erie County

The Democratic Women of Erie County will be awarding $500.00 scholarships to local female residents who demonstrate the principles of the Democratic Party.  The purpose of the scholarships is to stimulate interest in and to create involvement in local, state and national government.



  • Erie County female resident
  • GPA minimum of 3.0
  • Scholarship is restricted to an accredited institution of higher learning
  • 250-500 word essay is required
  • Registered to Vote if Age Permits
    • Registered at 17 years old, if applicant will be 18 years old on the day of the November 3, 2020 Election
  •  Available to Attend the Democratic Women of Erie County Meetings
    • June 15, 2020: Introduction of the Scholarship recipient and reading of the essay, and presentation of DWEC Scholarship certificate and check


  • What do you believe is the most important campaign topic for the 2020 Presidential election? Why?
  • Please be specific in your reasons, including information such as what is the effect on you, the world, or a specific body of individuals or physical matter. You may use science, history or political references, along with any other remarkable information.


  • The essay must be typed on white paper and double spaced. 
  • The applicant’s first name should appear at the top right corner of each page. Entries will be evaluated on the basis of clarity, organization, grammar and presentation. 
  • Please complete the cover page and submit it with your essay and a school transcript to: Charlene Adams, 1518 Pearl Street, Sandusky, OH 44870
  • The essay must be postmarked no later than Friday, March 6, 2020. We allow 10 days for delivery.

Any questions, please contact:

To print out cover page, requirements, essay topic and contact information, please click on links below:

2019 Scholarship Recipients

Andra Grant - Cleveland State University

Andra Grant, a 2018 Sandusky High School graduate,
Andra Grant - Photo
is attending Cleveland State University 
and  majoring in Health Science 
with a track in the Pre-Physician Assistant Program. 

Rikki Garand - The Ohio State University   

Rikki Garand, a St. Mary Central Catholic High School Senior,
Rikki Garand - Photo
is planning to attend The Ohio State University 
and majoring in Political Science 
with a focus in Public Affairs/Government. 

Bakeless Bake Sale
Proceeds support the Dorothy Deering
Memorial Scholarship Fund

Bake sales are being held every day,
But we’re going to do it a different way.
No raiding the cookbook for something to bake,
No creampuffs, brownies, cookies or cake.

No trip to the store to buy what you need,
No blending, no stirring, no oven heat.
No toppings, no icings...Just get off your feet!
Your nerves stay unruffled; your kitchen stays neat.

We hope you think our plan is grand
And feel quite sure you will understand.
In your envelope, please put the price
Of a pie, cake or something nice.

Without fuss or bother, you have done your part.
We are sure you will give with a willing heart.
This is the end of our little tale
Wishing success for our bakeless bake sale.
If you would like to donate, please mail a check payable to:
Democratic Women of Erie County, ATTN:  Treasurer
P.O. Box 1044, Sandusky 44871-1044
bring your contribution to a monthly meeting
and give to Diane Schaefer, Treasurer
Thank You for your support!

Julie Farrar and Traci Francis, Co-Chairs
Diane Hahler-Johnson
Mary Lou Napka

Click here for Membership Form
Join Us!  You'll be glad you did!!

Officers, Committees & Committee Chairs

*President (2019-2020) - Margaret M. Murray
*Vice-President (2019-2020) - Amanda Fackler
*Secretary (2019-2020) - Lisa R. DeVerna
*Treasurer (2019-2020) - Diane L. Schaefer
*Membership Secretary (2019-2020) - Mary Zuk

Constitution & Bylaws - Sandra Brown
Chaplain - Patricia Baum
Historian -  To Be Posted
*Parliamentarian - Diane Hahler-Johnson
*Political Action Chair - Darlene Walk
*Publicity - Amanda Fackler
Scholarship Chair - Charlene Adams
*Social Chair - Dot Windau
Voter Registration and Membership Drive - Debbie Nickoloff
*Ways & Means Co-Chairs - Julie Farrar and Tracy Francis
* = Member of the Executive Committee

Auditing Committee - Nettie Cox, Barbara Kresser, Norma Scally
Christmas Dinner Committee - Amanda Fackler, Tracy Francis, Lisa DeVerna, 
Barb Kresser, Margaret Murray, Debbie Nickoloff, Norma Scally, Dorothy Windau
Dinner/Meeting E-mails - Diane Schaefer
Dinner/Meeting Telephone - Connie Porter
Nominating Committee - Barb Kessler, Peggy Murray, Norma Scally
Parliamentarian & Bylaws - Diane Hahler-Johnson, Sandra Brown, Connie Porter,
Karen Walderzak, Darlene Walk
Picnic Committee - Tracy Francis, Diane Hahler-Johnson
Political Action Committee - Darlene Walk, Beverly Newell Hancock
Publicity - Amanda Fackler
Scholarship Committee - Charlene Adams, Tracy Francis, Debbie Nickoloff,
Yvette Rankins
Ways & Means Committee - Tracy Francis, Julie Farrar, MaryLou Napka, Diane Hahler-Johnson

Paid for and authorized by the Democratic Women of Erie County
Diane L. Schaefer, Treasurer, P.O. Box 1044, Sandusky 44871-1044